SL-Class (R230) 2003 -- 2012: Discussion on the SL500, SL550, SL600

SL/R230: Thinking about getting into a SL500!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-20-2009, 07:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thinking about getting into a SL500!

I'm coming from a E46 M3 which I recently sold due to all the smg issues and cracked subframe recall. I always wanted a SL500 (R230) but couldn't afford it at the sticker price. Now, that the market is so soft I think its time for me to make a jump. I want to know are their any serious issues like the transmission, Air shocks, or ABC pumps going bad like on the CL500? I already know these repairs can exceeds into the thousands.
Old 08-21-2009, 09:42 PM

So no one is going to answer me? Wow.
Old 08-21-2009, 11:26 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
2007 SL550
From prior posts. Search a bit, there's plenty of advice.

----

As a relatively new owner myself, I'm no expert but I did a bit of research prior to my purchase (05 SL500) and found a few things to check for. The ABC suspension is known to leak, including leaking struts. Check for oil on the rubber boots around the struts, and if possible if the car has been in the same spot for 24 hours, look for leaks/spills. The ABC pump is another problem area; though I don't know a good way to check this.

Another known weak spot is the solenoid release from park on the automatic transmission. Unfortunately, there's no good way to check this other than ensure the shifter moves easily and repeatedly out of park when you press the brake pedal. Listen for a solid, quiet "thunk" from the shifter. A plastic lever is the weak spot, and when it breaks, you'll be stuck in park with no easy way to remove the console trim.