SL-Class (R230) 2003 -- 2012: Discussion on the SL500, SL550, SL600

SL/R230: Helping an old friend with ABC issue

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-17-2018, 09:18 AM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
2004 SL500
Helping an old friend with ABC issue

An old friend of mine from when I worked as a mechanic called me up yesterday with a question about his SL. Turns out he picked one up the same weekend I did! Anyhow, after going through the whole "great minds think alike" back and forth, he told me about the issue he's having. On startup, if he doesn't pause for a few seconds to let all the pumps and whatnot prime themselves the car will throw the red ABC "drive carefully" error. If he turns the car off, waits 10-15 minutes and tries again while pausing before hitting the starter, the error does not come up. He hasn't been able to take it by a shop yet to see if there's any Star info on the error itself. He also notes that there appears to be some kind of grinding noise, very similar to a wheel bearing about to go out, on startup. It's just for a second and then goes away. Revving the engine to the cold start RPMs doesn't make it come and and it's not present while driving. There is no whining or thumping noise that users have noted in other threads.

He usually comes to me first for any mechanical stuff as I live closer to him than any trustworthy shops, it usually works out in my favor because I can make a few bucks on small jobs here and there on the weekend. Basically his technological comfort zone ends after plugging in an OBD reader to read or clear codes, and his mechanical comfort zone ends at lifting the hood and checking fluid levels.

The troubleshooting we've done so far:

Checked the fluid level for ABC pump, within spec for hot and cold levels
Also verified engine oil level was good