SL55 AMG, SL63 AMG, SL65 AMG (R230) 2002 - 2011 (2003 US for SL55 and 2004 for the SL65)

SL55/63/65/R230 AMG: Shifting the SL55

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-13-2006, 12:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 SL55, 2005 E500 Wagon
Shifting the SL55

When I first got my SL55, I was coming from a manual transmission, and I was a little disappointed. At first I tried it in manual mode. The delay in shifting, while less than in most manumatics, made shifting at a precise rpm difficult. Shifting just at the redline under full throttle was essentially impossible; either I’d shift too soon, or run into the rev limiter. Even though the lag affected downshifts as well, they were not a problem, since you make them going in to a corner under a trailing throttle and their exact time of occurrence is not important, as long as you don’t get the car out of shape with engine braking at the wrong time.

Then I started playing with “S” or sport mode. I’d go into a corner and around the time of turn-in (the exact timing varies with the radius of the corner) tap the left button enough to get the car in a gear that I wanted to be in when I started to apply power. (If you’re going to be at a fairly high rpm after the last downshift, you want to shift later, since there’s no rev matching software on the SL, and we don’t want to unbalance the car any more than you have to.) Then you point the car just inside the apex and squeeze on the throttle. As you pass the apex and begin to unwind the steering wheel, tap the right button to allow the car to change to up to the gear that you’ll want at the end on the corner. Stay on the throttle as much or as little as you want, and let the transmission upshift for you. If you’re feeling racy, burying the throttle will give you perfect red-line shifts. If you’re giving the car less gas, you get appropriate shifts.

In summary, you control the downshifts, and let the car control the upshifts. Works great for me. How do others do it?

Jim