SL55 AMG, SL63 AMG, SL65 AMG (R230) 2002 - 2011 (2003 US for SL55 and 2004 for the SL65)

SL55/63/65/R230 AMG: New to the SL55

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-25-2007, 10:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to the SL55

im new to this whole sl55 game, infact im sort of new to mercedes all together.

i have this burning question as to whether or not its humanly possible to delete the governer built in to this beauty.. i know its all electronic and will surely cost thousands of dollars and a new ecu.. but i just want it to go a smidge faster.

are there any tuners out there willing to break this barrier? i know of such setups for other cars.. its a simple question, i mean feel free to flame me all you want but sometimes no matter how illegal it is, the 206mph limit found over seas is a hole in my heart
Old 04-25-2007, 10:55 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Lotus Elise SLK55
Originally Posted by therise

i have this burning question as to whether or not its humanly possible to delete the governer built in to this beauty.. i know its all electronic and will surely cost thousands of dollars and a new ecu.. but i just want it to go a smidge faster.

are there any tuners out there willing to break this barrier? i know of such setups for other cars.. its a simple question, i mean feel free to flame me all you want but sometimes no matter how illegal it is, the 206mph limit found over seas is a hole in my heart
Yes, its very easy to do. Contact Kleemann or Renntech, I believe their ecu is around 1,000$... it'll probably give you 10hp as a side benefit. When you do the ecu, you might as well get their kompressor pulley for more boost to gain some real power.
Old 04-25-2007, 11:15 PM

thanks, ill have to get in touch with them. now its time for some sleep its been a hell of a long day.

again, thanks for the fast response.. im new to MB
Old 04-25-2007, 11:58 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
'03 SL55