SL55 AMG, SL63 AMG, SL65 AMG (R230) 2002 - 2011 (2003 US for SL55 and 2004 for the SL65)

SL55/63/65/R230 AMG: Easy way to indentify ABC replaced?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-30-2011, 11:33 AM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
CL55
Easy way to indentify ABC replaced?

Im looking at a '03 SL55 with 94,000 miles for $18K. Other than obvious leaking fluid on the ground, can I visually/easily see if there are updated parts on the ABC?

I know about the SC chirp, so Ill listen for that. ABC has me worried, Im a fair mechanic but the ABC is too complicated for my skills.

thanks in advance
Old 09-30-2011, 11:47 AM
alx
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 247 Likes on 213 Posts
Originally Posted by Titan1969
Im looking at a '03 SL55 with 94,000 miles for $18K. Other than obvious leaking fluid on the ground, can I visually/easily see if there are updated parts on the ABC?

I know about the SC chirp, so Ill listen for that. ABC has me worried, Im a fair mechanic but the ABC is too complicated for my skills.

thanks in advance
the only pieces that can visually be recognized as different are the front abc hose (that runs on the bottom parallel to the radiator) and the valve blocks. i dont know what the updated hose difference is (i know it is different in appearance though), but the updated valve blocks have the two round reservours attached to form one unit while the old ones are two separate ones.

if you are seeing fluid on the front- chances are the abc hose is the original one and it is leaking. they like to give birth some time after they start leaking

at that mileage though i will be seeing a lot of things go wrong with this car- engine mounts, he pump, tandem pump, valve blocks, shocks, vacuum pump, plugs will need to be redone, front suspension components, etc, etc...
Old 09-30-2011, 12:15 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Eurocharged 2004 E500, Eurocharged ECU/TCU 2005 SL600, 2010 Caddy SwaggerWagon
Originally Posted by alx