SL55 AMG, SL63 AMG, SL65 AMG (R230) 2002 - 2011 (2003 US for SL55 and 2004 for the SL65)

SL55/63/65/R230 AMG: Attention caused by your SL55 or SL65.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-19-2012, 02:49 AM

Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
2005 C55 AMG - 2018 340i - 2006 SL55 AMG - Sold
Attention caused by your SL55 or SL65.

I must ask the question.

First off, I TRULY bought both my SL55 and my SL600 because they were my dream cars. I used to work as a valet in college from 2002-2006 and whenever a SL55 would pull up, I would always try to out run the other valet’s to get the car. When I actually had a chance to buy one in 2009, I jumped all over it.

I bought my SL600 because I figured with Obama in office, my time to own a V12 bi-turbo might be in jeopardy AND I also realized that aftermarket warranty companies may soon wise up and stop covering the AMG/V12 cars since they are so expensive. Additionally, I wanted to own one of the most incredible engines ever produced. Other then the Buggati W16 engine and the AMG enhanced 6.0 biturbo v12, the 5.5 biturbo V12 may be the most advanced engine in the world. It’s at least the most advanced and powerful engine available on my budget.

Anyway, that said, I always get teased by my family and friends about “buying my car to get girls.” Quite frankly, they don’t seem to give a ****. I get more attention from girls when I take my dog for a walk. If I borrow my friend’s puppy and take that for a walk…forget it. I’m’ ambushed.

95% of my attention comes from 18-25 year old males who ask me all kinds of stupid questions.

A few girls have asked me how much money my car costs. RED FLAG!

But what has surprised me is the amount of negative attention and hate I get when driving the car. I’ve almost exclusively owned BMW’s and those cars can be pretty flashy. But the comments and hate I get in my SL is ridiculous.

Anyone else experience this?
Old 11-19-2012, 03:08 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts