SLK-Class (R170) 1998-2003: SLK 200, SLK 230K, SLK 320

SLK/R170: Octane?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-04-2004, 11:40 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2011 E63, 2018 AMG GT Convertible
Octane?

I use 89 with my E320 with no problems (the computer makes the necessary adjustments). I am new to the SLK and wonder if I can use 89 Octane with this car (230 Kompressor)? Anyone have any experience here?
Old 09-04-2004, 03:42 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
There's the chance that everything will be ok, but also the chance you develop a serious engine knock (faster than you can blink) and since your probably out of warranty thats going to bite the big one......this isn't like Ford where you can buy crate motors from the JC Whitney catalog

17 MB's, eh? Just spring for the extra .14 a gallon
Old 09-04-2004, 06:54 PM

The others (17) are all gone - ex wife and hers, and the kids now have their own.
Old 09-04-2004, 07:36 PM

'02 SLK32 AMG
"No problems." does not necessarily mean no difference. Even if there is no knocking and no damage, you have to realize that the car is designed to run on higher octane fuel, so lower octane will give you lower performance, and more importantly, lower fuel economy.

You might pay $0.10 less per gallon but if you get 5% lower fuel economy, you don't actually save anything.
Old 09-04-2004, 07:53 PM

During the first gas "crunch" of the 70s (maybe the 80s - I'm gettin' old) there was an article in The Star about Octane usage and how using the middle grade would not harm the engine, but would result in a little less horsepower that really would only be noticable on hard acceleration. It was supported by lots of numbers and equations. In the next quarter's issue there was a retraction. And it was obvious that the order for the retraction came from on high. And even then the retraction was somewhat weak when you read between the lines. I always used the high grade for the V12, but not for the sixes.