Going to the autocross this sunday!!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-06-2005, 04:45 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
AMG
Going to the autocross this sunday!!

Can someone tell me the tricks? It's gonna be my first time in my life never done that!!!

Also i tinted my windows! gonna post pics later !!!
Old 04-06-2005, 08:44 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Pump up your tires to help prevent tire damage from rolling over during hard cornering. I ran 38 rears and 42 fronts in my PS2's on my M3's but I'm no expert.

Read this, it helped me: http://www.tunnellracing.com/advice.html

I walked the course 5 times and it still was not quite enough. Be off the breaks and downsifted (if manual) before you start the turn. You don't want to be plowing the breaks while you are turning. The steadier your accelerating and breaking the better grip your tires will have.

GRAB A TRUE VETERAN AND HAVE HIM DO 3 THINGS FOR YOU:
1) Walk the course with you and he'll help you with the proper lines
2) He'll give you some good overall pointers like, "slower in hairpins is faster."
3) Get him to ride with you and give you pointers WHILE you are driving the course.

No, I've never done it but I did stay in a Holiday Inn ... last night.
Old 04-07-2005, 12:26 AM

SL 65 AMG and E63s AMG
Bob you're gonna love it. Just got back from the challenge and although we didn't use E55s in the autocross I know they will perform above your expectations for a 4000 pound car.

One pointer, smoother is better. Jerky is slower.

Another is to brake when the car is going straight only. The tires work best for braking only when going straight. Wait to the later segment of the curve to hammer it.