Alert!! Hold On To Your Stock Ecu

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-26-2006, 07:02 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
300ce
Alert!! Hold On To Your Stock Ecu

.........I am aware of four K2/K4 ECU's now that can no longer be reprogrammed after the secondary air injection pump recall. Mine is one of them. Duyring the recall MB installs new programs in your ECU that hides the location of the load limiter and the location to tell the car if it has or does not have secondary CATs. This is not an accident. Looks like MB is deliberately thwarting the efforts of aftermarket tuners. You do the recall work to your car at your own risk.

...........I am not an engineering and did not sleep at the Holiday Inn last night. So the above information is not intended to sbstitute for the the informtion you get from mercedes regarding the safety of your car.

Ted
Old 06-26-2006, 07:27 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
2003 E55 & 2014 GL550
Still wondering if we can buy another ECU to use as a backup.

We could roll with Klee's ECU til we go to the stealer, then swap um out.

Finally got a parts guy to give me a price of around a grand for a new one, but he treated me like I was trying to buy crack or something.....all quizzin me and crap.

Anyway, if I did grab another ECU, could I have Klee program it and let the stealer rape the stock one. Wonder if there are special vehicle codes and ID's built into the stock one.

Anyone know??
Old 06-26-2006, 07:39 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
AMGs
Originally Posted by Ted Baldwin