Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

E55 In Northern Climate???

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-10-2003, 11:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E55 In Northern Climate???

Anyone out there use their E55 as a daily driver, even in wintry weather...sleet/snow/ice?
Considering relocating to New England, and have a 211E55 on order.
Is the E55 unsuitable for the Northeast?
Will good winter tires balance off the torque and traction problems the E55 presents?
Or is a second vehicle a virtual necessity?
Old 01-10-2003, 01:29 PM
alz

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I have bad news

I live in NYC and drive to Westchester County nearly every weekend -- My E55 is downright dangerous in anything close to sleet or snow.

So you know, I am a graduate of the Bondurant school, Skip Barber and have raced SCCA (various classes) over the years, so I am not faint of heart.

I have a deposit down on a new E55, but am considering dropping it.

It really bothers me that I have to consider something less performance-oriented because of those 10 days or so of inclimate whether, but....

I actually have no idea what I can get that approximates the performance of the E55 -- an S8, Cayenne Twin Turbo??
Old 01-10-2003, 01:37 PM
alz

Two more things I forgot

I have used winter tires with little success and and have a second vehicle.
Old 01-10-2003, 03:22 PM

I had a deposit on an S8 when the current generation was first released, but backed out for several reasons.
If you're used to an E55, it will feel very slow (0-60 times are on par with the E500 as I recall), handling is OK but they're very big vehicles and you feel it, technology is currently well behind the E Class, depreciation is worse than peers. But having driven A8's in very heavy snow and slush, I will say the 4WD and handling characteristics are impressive in that environment.
I'm curious about the Cayenne as well.
Haven't yet seen one.
Old 01-10-2003, 08:08 PM
Almost a Member!

2002 E55