Mods and tax deductions?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-26-2009, 10:55 PM
Former Vendor of MBWorld

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
C55,SL55,C63
Mods and tax deductions?

can I deduct all my car mod expenses in the past year under a "hobby deduction" of 2%. Has anyone done this? Im no tax pro but after my quick research it looked like I could get a 2% deduction on the money i've put into my car. Ive got all the receipts.
2% inst much but when you consider the cost of go fast parts for a Mercedes it can add up. anyone got any insight on this?
Old 01-26-2009, 11:30 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
2015 S212
LOL, I'd bet no way. What line of work are you in? Anything related to cars? You would have a better return justifying the car as a business project than you would a personal hobby, if possible.
Old 01-27-2009, 01:06 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2006 E55
my accountant always told me hobby deductions were almost an instant red flag. I've written off some of my mods though. Since I use my car for business, and its needed some "maintenance" items over the years.
Old 01-27-2009, 07:43 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Formula Mazda, Beast Junior...400HP 135i
Can you say "AUDIT"?!
Old 01-27-2009, 07:54 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
08 E 6point3-sold- 11 caddy cts-v-sold, 2012 E63 Palladium Silver
audit

why worry about a audit if there is nothing wrong.

If you spend a portion of your time at car shows, meets, and other events with your car I say yes.
Old 01-27-2009, 09:26 PM
Former Vendor of MBWorld

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
C55,SL55,C63
Originally Posted by drop997stop

If you spend a portion of your time at car shows, meets, and other events with your car I say yes.
I've heard of people doing this.

One thing some people might want to consider is starting a performance company to fall under a tax shelter. Some form of a not for profit entity.