W211 AMG Discuss the W211 AMG's such as the E55 and the E63

Did this shop blow the motor ?!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-11-2016 | 11:47 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2014 cls63 a amg. 2018 AMG GTR
Unhappy Did this shop blow the motor ?!

My friend who bought my car a while back was trying to sell it since he just upgraded to a CTSV as well. Car was running great as always. Had it sold to girl we both know. She takes it into this shop to smog it. Well it doesn't pass with the headers so she has them put the stock manifolds on and put stock cats back on.......

They called and told her that the car was running terribly after putting the stock exhaust back on and that cyl #8 has 50 PSI compression They were telling her that it was probably like this for a long time but with the headers on you didn't notice it ..........

I'm no expert but I don't see how the car would have been running super strong with a cyl with such low compression. Coincidentally the car is running like crap now too.

Is it possible the tune would be so far off without the headers ?

Personally I think they put stock exhaust back on and went for a drive, got into boost and popped the piston.

Oh and now she wants to get her money back and return car. Fun

Thoughts ?

Last edited by dllhg; 05-11-2016 at 11:52 PM.
Old 05-11-2016 | 11:51 PM

e55 amg
If the cars tuned for catless headers, and you toss a restrictive exhaust back on, anything is possible.
Old 05-12-2016 | 12:40 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

I could see that blowing a motor if they romped on it. Wouldn't a cyl with 50 PSI compression cause the motor to run poorly with or without restrictive exhaust ?

Last edited by dllhg; 05-12-2016 at 12:55 AM.
Old 05-12-2016 | 01:28 AM

clk63, cls55, ml63, (w210) E55
Many people here have experienced the notorious #8 cylinder failing during WOT while the engine is in failsafe/limp mode. (that's what happened to me)