Sponsored by:

HELP ME UNDERSTAND E55 COOLING!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-02-2018, 12:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
03 e55
HELP ME UNDERSTAND E55 COOLING!

Hey everyone. So this is my 1st supercharged vehicle so i am a complete noob when it comes to the IC and HE cooling.

I am currently running a single superflow pump exiting the ice tank pushing to intercooler. I just recently switched the pump to the superflow. Which brings me to my questions.

#1 - Since I am running trunk tank do I still need to bleed the system? I understand how to bleed it but would i bleed and put it back into the normal coolant tank for the engine? Or since its the tank would i run a bleed line back and have it push into the trunk tank? (Sorry if this is a stupid question)

#2 - Should I run 2 pumps? And if so where should i plumb in the other pump to flow to?

#3 - Here is a picture of how my current setup is running for plumbing. Is there anything that I should change???

Last edited by Drew Durham; 12-02-2018 at 12:15 PM.
Old 12-02-2018, 12:49 PM

Received 29 Likes on 22 Posts
CLK56TT (WIP), S65, RR 5.0 S/C
Originally Posted by Drew Durham
#1 - Since I am running trunk tank do I still need to bleed the system? I understand how to bleed it but would i bleed and put it back into the normal coolant tank for the engine? Or since its the tank would i run a bleed line back and have it push into the trunk tank? (Sorry if this is a stupid question)
Yes, you need to bleed the system. Your drawing doesn't indicate the presence of a coolant tank though. Are you running an OE joint or a split setup? Either way you have to have a header tank above everything in the cooling circuit otherwise some air might be trapped in the intercooler and or HE.

#2 - Should I run 2 pumps? And if so where should i plumb in the other pump to flow to?
With the working setup you shoudn't need to.