Sponsored by:

2009 W211 E63 M156 oil leak

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-27-2020, 04:05 PM

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
09' E63 AMG
2009 W211 E63 M156 oil leak

Hi guys, I'm fairly new to the MBWorld forums but have just purchased my first ever Mercedes, let alone an AMG. I got it for a decent price, considering its had its head bolts replaced and had extensive maintenance done to it both at an MB dealership and an indy European mechanic in San Jose. With the long drive back to Houston, TX, I started to notice about 700 miles in a burning oil smell.

I took it to my local mechanic as soon as I got back to Houston and they pointed out a large oil leak, and the wind while driving blew it onto the hot exhaust and as back as far as the rear resonator. I was quite surprised there was an oil leak, considering the M156 had its headbolts replaced, valve cover gasket replaced and valve lifters in July 2020. It had also been upgraded to the deeper transmission pan by FCP Euro (001989680310).

Previous service records also indicate that a mechanic identified a valve cover gasket leak as early as 2019 and recognised motor oil filter housing gasket leak in July 2019 ( at 123xxx miles). Car is now at 137xxx miles. However with these issues recently addressed according to service records, I'm not sure why there's a new oil leak this soon.

I paid the mechanic to identify the oil leak, and they put in a dye and told me to come back after about 400 miles to identify the source of the leak. I've attached photos below. If you guys have any idea what this issue is, how much it'd cost or whether the engine is even worth saving please let me know. I had got a PPI done in SJC but I'm shocked they did not pick up this oil leak up assuming it was before I started driving back to Texas.

Oil seems to be on the back half of the upgraded transmission pan. Mechanic said its definitely engine oil, but was unable to identify the source of leak at this inspection.