Sponsored by:

New alt, new batt, no start

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-13-2021, 09:52 AM

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
2012 E550
New alt, new batt, no start

Hello, I am new to MB's but not cars, so I'll be detailed as I can to help with diagnosing the issue.

Picked up a 2004 E55 AMG with some mods a couple weeks ago, and within minutes of driving on my 9 hour drive home got the convenience features disabled message. About half way home a red battery error with a service now message came on. Then, about an hour from home the radio went out, and about 15 minutes later I smelled an electrical burning smell and the AC stopped working. Made it home and started the Google searching and found that the voltage regulator may be the issue. Went to pull the voltage regulator out and the back cover of the alternator came off in pieces and the regulator had already been changed.

Changed the alternator but forgot to put the cables back on because I was in a rush trying to get done before it started raining. When I put the cable on the battery it sparked bad and the clamp started melting to the terminal because the power cable for the alternator was touching the block. Corrected that, checked all the fuses (all good), and tried to start the car. There was a metallic clank and it ran very rough for a few seconds and died. Tried again and nothing. Battery had 12.37 volts but went to 9 when cranking, so I got a new battery. When I started it, got the metallic clank and rough running for a few seconds before it died again. Tried starting again and it clicked like the starter wasn't getting enough juice that usually means the battery is dead. Still had the red battery warning as well. I stopped there because I was disappointed and now I am turning to the community for some help.

Is it possible I fried a power cable to the starter, or is there some module or relay between the battery and starter I may have fried? Thanks for any input.
Old 07-13-2021, 03:21 PM