Sponsored by:

Magno Alanite W212 E63- Ownership Thread

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-17-2022, 08:48 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
W212 E63
Magno Alanite W212 E63- Ownership Thread

Wanted to start a thread on this car, mostly for record keeping purposes and just to share experience along the way.

My background is all BMW's and Land Rovers. I've had multiple BMW e28's, e30's, e34's and a few e39 and e60 m5's. I ended up with this car because I could not justify spending ~$25k for 120k mile e39 m5 when you can buy an E63 for less. I'm about a year into ownership now, and not quite in love with this car yet but it's growing on me as I slowly improve on it.

Basic details and how I purchased it:
  • -90k miles
  • Magno Alanite grey (wrapped Avery Dennison Matte metallic grey @ time of purchase)
  • Non P30 car- No LSD but does have alacantara wheel and carbon interior trim
  • Muffler AND resonator delete (LOUD)
  • AMG C63 507 wheels
  • Some sort of carbon lip
  • Needs:
    • Brakes (rotors and pads)
    • LF headlight- haze on inside of lens
    • Tires

Last edited by Jb325is; 07-17-2022 at 08:51 PM.
The following users liked this post:
cotmfk (07-18-2022)
Old 07-17-2022, 09:08 PM

W212 E63
As I mentioned, the car needed brakes when I got it- rotors were completely worn out and had been ignored for quite a while... The slots were worn almost all the way through! I ended up finding a good deal on some factory replacement Brembo 2pc rotors on Rock Auto (<$290/ea) and went with Ferodo Eco Friction Fronts and Pagid Semi-metallic rears with new wear sensors I was under $800 for brakes, which was a pleasant surprise!