Sponsored by:

Tips on Purchasing a Pre-Owned E63S

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-05-2024, 10:27 PM

Received 10 Likes on 4 Posts
2019 E63S
Tips on Purchasing a Pre-Owned E63S

Hello everyone! I am looking to join the AMG family here and have my eyes on a 2019 E63S Sedan as my practical daily driving family car. I'm new to the world of Mercedes and Euro's in general and am looking for any advice on what I should watch out for, recommendations, maintenance expectations, etc. Trying to learn as much as I can about the car before pulling the trigger.

Some details about the specific car I am looking at:
30K kms (about 19K miles I think that is?)
1 owner, full dealer maintenance history available, clean carfax.
Has had some minor warranty repairs. I spoke to the service manager where the car was maintained and he said they were common minor things. There was a rear mirror fix, side mirror repair, the A/C in the seats had an issue and got a repair and the spark plugs got changed at 12K kms which seemed odd to me. Other than that, history looked good.
Rubber at 85%, brakes at 50% according to its recent inspection.
Very minimal curb rash on drivers front wheel, other than that, no damage/nicks/scratches apparently.

Some of my concerns are just that I am not local so cannot go look at the car directly and the car has just left warranty which is always a concern. I did look into an extended 4 year warranty that my local dealer can set up for me, its not cheap but its peace of mind. The dealer closest to the car is willing to do a safety inspection and check through the computer systems, though that's a 3 hour labour charge for all that and he said there was nothing in its history that would cause him concern. Kind of made it sound like it would not be a good use of $600.

I welcome any tips as to what I should be looking for or asking the dealer about, or what to expect as a new AMG owner!
Old 04-06-2024, 06:56 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 668 Likes on 515 Posts