Notices
Audio & Electronics Use this forum to discuss audio and electronic upgrades for your Mercedes-Benz.

Bluetooth vs MHI

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-20-2006, 01:36 PM

Received 30 Likes on 7 Posts
2017 Rolls Royce Wraith, 1999 CLK Cabriolet, 2023 Genesis G90
Bluetooth vs MHI

Hello:

I'm relatively new to this forum, but thus far I have felt quite welcome. I currently have a 2003 S 430 with the Moto V60 phone, so I'm new to all this BT stuff. I have just bought a 2007 GL450 Premiere Edition and I'm told it comes with the Hands Free Communication System from the factory. I'd like to know several things before I make a costly mistake:

1. When using the Bluetooth adaptor, will the phone's signal be transmitted using the car's antenna or the phone's?

2. If indeed it uses the phone's antenna, and I have the infrared glass, am I likely to drop calls?

3. If I get the BT adaptor, instead of the MHI, can I then get any Cingular phone that is BT capable and have it work? Say a Palm Treo?

4. Finally, my dealer says I am supposed to buy the BT adaptor (or MHI) from the service dept., yet a lot of paople have bought and received theirs from AWS. What do you recommend I do? I'll be dealing with Bill Ussery in Miami.

Thanks in advance for your attention.
Old 04-20-2006, 01:50 PM

Received 20 Likes on 15 Posts
2019 Volvo XC90 Magic/Amber, '95 E320 Cabriolet Midnight,'14 GL350 Lunar/Almond was '07 GL320CDI
Major question first

Which phone do you think you want to use. If you want to use one which will integrate with the vehicle, then don't bother with bluetooth...if you want to use one that won't, then consider your questions. obviously, you're ready to drop the v60???
Old 04-20-2006, 02:24 PM