Notices
Audio & Electronics Use this forum to discuss audio and electronic upgrades for your Mercedes-Benz.

CANBus Hacking with Carloop

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-17-2017, 02:21 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 166 Likes on 137 Posts
2019 Jeep Trackhawk, 2002 CLK55, 2014 911 Carrera
CANBus Hacking with Carloop

I just got my Carloop yesterday and finally got time to play around with it tonight. It's pretty straight-forward; I got it working in just a couple hours and I didn't know anything about the Particle Photon before yesterday.

Next step is to load a simple program and see if I can get it communicating with the car via the OBD-II port. After that I'll figure out how to sniff the CAN bus, and then write a program that turns on my intercooler pump whenever the key is ON.

I'm new to this so feel free to chime in with advice. I'll ask specific questions below when they come up.
Old 05-17-2017, 08:05 AM
Out Of Control!!

Received 1,019 Likes on 947 Posts
1999 E300TD
You wasted your money---the parameter instructions are all within the engine ECU and you tool can't read or edit the ECU------return and buy your girlfriend a hot dog!
Old 05-17-2017, 08:08 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Challenge accepted!
Old 05-17-2017, 11:06 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

OK, all joking aside, are you saying that you know *for certain* that the intercooler pump is not on either of the CAN buses?
Old 05-17-2017, 02:16 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 1,019 Likes on 947 Posts
1999 E300TD
All joking aside----yes of course the message is communicated via the CAN, however I doubt that your handy dandy CAN bus analyzer will see the message and if it does you can't\won't be able to read and edit the instruction from the ECU without very specialized software.

Your best bet is start talking to tuners as you are at preschool and the actual editing is way above my pay grade!
Old 05-17-2017, 02:23 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Originally Posted by Plutoe