C-Class (W202) 1995-2000: C 200 CDI, C 220 CDI, C 270 CDI, C 180, C 200 K,C 230 K, C 220, C230, C 280

1996 C280 w/ 120k for $8500 from a dealer - Worth investigating?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-28-2004, 03:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1996 C280 w/ 120k for $8500 from a dealer - Worth investigating?

Hi there.

Well, I'm a potential newbie W202er. I drove a '97 C230 tonight and liked it a lot but it was a bit out of my price range. I have found a lot nearby with the exact car I want for what seems like a really low price.

Right now, I am torn between a BMW 95 325i convertible and the W202. grrr...

Anyway, in terms of this C280. Any particular list of demands I should make before signing?

First thing I plan to ask for is proof of the head gasket update. If that hasn't been done, I will cut $1000 off right there or walk.

Is it correct that by 1996 the harness problem was no longer an issue?

I really hope this car checks out because I would really love to own one.

Thanks for any help!
Old 03-28-2004, 12:21 PM

87 190E 2.6/1995 M3
$8500 is the bottom end retail price for the car with this mileage(NADA)... of course prices depend on location, but I don't see them knocking off another grand from the price as this is pretty much priced to sell.... see if they can offer a warranty or you might wanna get an aftermarket warranty on it...
personally I'd take the convertible (as long as it comes with a hardtop)...
Old 03-28-2004, 12:55 PM

I'd ask to see the service records and have them give me a CarFax on the car. The service records should show what's been done to the car and the CarFax will show you the history of the car (how many owners, accidents, private owner, lease, program car (rental), etc.)

Look for things that would indicate that the car has been poorly maintained like a Walmart battery or a Fram filter, cheap tires, etc. It'll tell you a lot about the previous owner(s).
Old 03-28-2004, 01:04 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!