C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

Has anyone had warranty problems?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-13-2003, 05:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
M
Exclamation Has anyone had warranty problems?

Hey guys, I was wondering if anyone here has had problems with theirs mods voiding their warranty or their dealer refusing to do warranty work? What sort of things void the warranty?
Old 01-13-2003, 07:16 PM

This is from what I learned when I worked as a contractor at the Mercedes Benz dealer in Tulsa; they can tell if an aftermarket pulley kit has been put on and then removed for warranty work, lowering a Benz can void the warranty, some aftermarket radios can cause a warranty to be void just to name a few. I am not an authority on this, this is what I have seen and heard from the dealer.

I am sure their will be others with different views than this however when in doubt ask a qualified Mercedes Benz rep.

Old 01-13-2003, 08:26 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2010 C300 4matic
Originally posted by Lockbuster
they can tell if an aftermarket pulley kit has been put on and then removed for warranty work
I doubt this. It would have to be very obvious, like if the pulley was nice and clean and everything else was dirty. How else would they tell? And I don't think most techs are expecting to see an aftermarket pulley, so it is not really something that they are looking for. The majority of people who buy a benz don't modify anything on it, although it may be different on the west coast.

Also, I don't think that your entire warranty can be voided because of a single part. I think it only voids the warranty on any parts that it may affect. So a radio isn't going to void the car's entire warranty, but it may void any warranty on the sound system. But I could be wrong about this.
Old 01-13-2003, 08:42 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2002 C230 K
Originally posted by Matt230K