C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

New and young C180 Coupe owner

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-04-2010, 01:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C180 Coupe Kompressor
New and young C180 Coupe owner

Hello everyone!
I'm a new, proud owner of a 2001 C180 Coupe!

I must say I'm a very lucky guy, I'm only 25yo and working in film industry which, as you probably know, is not an industry that allows young people to earn piles of bloody moola... I've worked all around the world, sometimes illegally (including some construction work in the States) put some money aside and now I wanted to buy my very first car!

I've been a driver for over six years now and also I'm an avid biker, but till now I've always been driving/riding someone else's rides. So I've said to myself "This spring I must buy me a ride, it is high time!". I kinda opted for a bike at first, but my girlfriend talked some sense into me and I've settled for a car (we're both working as photographers so we kinda needed a vehicle to hurl our equipment around).
I wanted to buy a used VW Golf, well you know, good machine for a first car and was in my price range. But then my family has heard that I'm buying a car and they've decided they need to pitch in, so my possibilities broadened and finally I've settled on a silver 2001 C180 Coupe!
(it has been arranged for me by my family in Germany and then I brought it home with me)

I call him Grandpa Four-Eyes

To be honest it's not entirely my style as I'm more of an academic/artistic (I'm a film historian and art critic working as a photographer and grip and learning for a DoP... yeah, weird...) country-blues kind of guy, but this car... it got me wholesale! I just saw myself in it, I've just felt its groove, I've felt a connection... I don't know how to express it - it just feels right.

As I've mentioned above it's my very first car and I'd love to hear some tips from You guys!