C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

Key will not turn. SOLVED

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-13-2012, 02:06 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
c320
Key will not turn. SOLVED

Just thought I would post to explain about a somewhat common issue people are getting on their W203s and how it was resolved for me. This may not be the same problem you have, so I will explain in detail.

I had the issue of the key not being recognized/not unlocking the steering or any reaction whatsoever when I would put it in, but only after the battery had died (drained overnight)

I am a service technician (mechanic if you prefer), and somewhat familiar with MB systems.

This has happened before, once when the battery had died, so I checked and noticed the battery was drained (known seat module drain, repaired but has reoccured about 1 year later, usually left unplugged but we had forgotten to unplug it this time).

Tried a regular boost. Didn't help (unlike the time before)
Tried fully recharging with a trickle charger and tested with sophisticated battery testing equipment, battery fails test.

Replace battery. Does not improve situation BUT now battery is KNOWN good.

Checking fuses. All ok in all fuse boxes.
Key will unlock doors etc, but not recognized when inserted in the ignition switch (aka EIS)

Send car to MB. dealer.
Technicians say the key is faulty, and to start from there, but nothing is assured. I only have one key (original key, light physical damage)

Replace key at MB. (250$+50$ for the mechanical key) + 1.5hr diagnostic/programming.

Vehicle fully functional with new key.

I still don't understand why/how changing the key fixed the issue, since it only occurred after the battery died, I'm not even gonna guess.

Long story short: Replaced key and battery. All good.

Even my RF unlocking/locking is fully functional (for now), instead of intermittent/nonfunctional.

edit: canadian car/price of key