C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

extremely loud whirring, squealing noise after shutoff

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-07-2014, 04:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 c240 4 matic
extremely loud whirring, squealing noise after shutoff

Hey all, I'm a newb to the forum. Done lots of searching everywhere to find an answer to my issue but I figured this would be my best bet. I've ran some searches on here and found this https://mbworld.org/forums/c32-amg-c...ngine-bay.html but it happens to people only when the car is running. I parked the car yesterday and it made this really loud "kind of like a drill" sound from under hood on the right hand side somewhere. I was wondering what it was. Car functions as it should. It's an 04 c240 4matic wagon. Great little car with 140k on the clock. Just wondering if you guys know what it is so i can just replace the bad part. Again it did the noise yesterday only for the first time after engine shut off. It was def not the fan. Any help is appreciated.
Old 04-08-2014, 10:50 AM

2004 c240 4 matic
Does anyone know what this is about? I am thinking it cannot be any of the car's regular systems as the engine is off. Def not the fan. Noise was horribly loud. Almost the decibels of a car alarm
Old 04-08-2014, 12:14 PM

Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
2005 C230K SS
I have a 230k and I normally hear a weird mix of humming and clicking during starts (before starter is engaged) and sometimes relay clicks after shut down. I can't imagine what your car is doing, but my guess is it is something electronic rather than mechanical, since it happened with the motor shut off. This is a far flung idea, but try seeing if there are any pending codes, in my experience some faults may be stored that do not quite meet the requirements of a CEL.
Old 04-08-2014, 01:43 PM

2004 c240 4 matic
Originally Posted by RWDlifer