C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

Questing about shifting.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-20-2004, 10:49 AM
Almost a Member!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Daily: VW GTI Vr6 Leasure: SLK350
Questing about shifting.

Hi,

I have not post anything for a long long time. This weekend I brought a new C320 with manual shift. This is the first time I got a manual shift car. I have one quick question regarding up shift. I seem to have problem doing a smooth up shift. Every time I shift from first to second or second to third or higher I also end up jerking the car a little. I am new to driving a stick shift, so I am a little slow on the clutch, and I did not rev the engine too hight when I shift because it is still breaking in. I usually shift around 2000-2500. I do notice that if I shift around 3000 or a little higher the transition is a lot smoother. I want to know how to shift at a lower rpm, because I don't want to rev my car every time just to get a smooth shift. Any suggestions? Thanks!
Old 07-20-2004, 10:55 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

S4
its definately harder to shift smoothly @ lower rpms, I'd sugggest giving it more gas as you upshift and don't push the clutch all the way in when you change gears
Old 07-20-2004, 11:00 AM
Out Of Control!!

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
2004 Civic Si. FWD for the Win!
Originally Posted by PoloJCP
I usually shift around 2000-2500. Any suggestions? Thanks!
I'd shift around 4k instead. That's still low enough for break-in, and won't bog you down like you're getting now from your premature shifting.
Old 07-20-2004, 11:47 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2002 C230 Coupe
I normally shift around 3000rpm, still low enough and smoother.
Old 07-20-2004, 01:01 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts