C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

New here and your support

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-12-2024, 10:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 C230 Coupe
New here and your support

Hello everyone, I'm new to the MB world and have a problem need your experience. I have a 2003 c230 coupe with the 271 engine, and has a 160,000 Km. the car went to a repairing shop to swap a transmission and radiator ( the radiator was mixing oil with coolant ). after the job is done the car has the roughest idle i have ever seen the total car is shaking badly. and it gave misfire codes on all 4 cyl. + P0131 O2 sensor circuit low voltage bank1 sensor 1. before the transmission swap the engine was running perfect. The only thing happen while changing the transmission is the exhaust link after the catalytic had opened as the bolts were too rusty and broke. but they replace the 2 bolts and the car is shaking since then. I took the car back because they where going to change everything to find the problem. and i did the following:
- changed the sparks - nothing changed
- Cleaned the throttle - it runs fine for 30 sec and shake again
- changed the famous 12$ hose - nothing changed
- Checked all hoses for leak
-Opened and cleaned the EGR valve - nothing changed
- Checked the fuel pressure. it was around 56 PSI

and it always come out with the P0131 code. and last thing was P0010 code ( A camshaft Position Actuator control circuit/open bank 1 ). I you put your foot on the accelerator and the RPM increase to 15 it runs fine. what you think ? is the O2 sensor can give this bad shaking ? and which one is the bank 1 sensor 1, is it the one before the catalytic ? what else should i test..
Old 05-12-2024, 06:59 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 211 Likes on 202 Posts
2003 C230K Coupe Orion Blue
P0131 is an O2 sensor error. The M271 is a 4 cylinder engine, with only 1 bank.