C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

An insurance trick = decent insurance rate + cheap toy?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-14-2008, 11:47 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2008 Arctic White C300 Sport 6M
An insurance trick = decent insurance rate + cheap toy?

I'm taking delivery of a C300 Sport in February. I have an idea about insurance rates and such.

I remember when I was younger, my parents always kept a used beater around to put my name under. That way they could claim that their more expensive vehicles were not driven too much and their insurance rates would be lower. Pre-25 years of age, especially while in high school, I had rates that were pretty crazy. What with my tickets/suspension/probation/accidents/etc. I'm still a bad driver, keep away from me.

I will be 28 this year and my record is pretty clean (now), so my insurance rates aren't too bad. But this is my first German, and I have no clue how much more it would be than my 02 V6 Altima. The C300 is about $6000~7000 more in price. What do you guys think:

I keep the C300 Sport, buy a cheap ($2500) used car, and register the old car as my primary driver.

This way, I get to have my new car, cheaper insurance rates (I hope?) AND have a toy to play with. I'm thinking weekend track setup with an old Nissan 240sx or 240/260/280Z.

Is this a stupid idea? If I won't save any money on insurance through this method, I'll have to think twice. Well... doing it at a bit of a cost to me is okay too... I've always wanted a track/drift toy...
Old 01-14-2008, 12:13 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2014 E350 Coupe Steel Gray
Have you called your insurance company and asked them to run a hypothetical? My insurance only went up by $10/mo. with the C300.
Old 01-14-2008, 12:20 PM
Almost a Member!

C300