C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Replaced my steering wheel with one from E-Class (W207)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-27-2012, 07:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2009 C300 Sport
Replaced my steering wheel with one from E-Class (W207)

Hi, I'm a Newbie. I've posted several replies, but this is my first original post.

So I got my 2009 C300 Sport in Irridium Silver last July. I love the car, but wasn't very fond of the original steering wheel. I wanted one with better leather and one with a flat bottom. I also didn't want to spend the kind of money for a C63 steering wheel and new airbag. Then someone pointed me to a German forum and someone there successfully replaced the W204 steering wheel with one from a W207 (E-Class). The original airbag "somewhat" fit the W207 steering wheel (more on this later).

I then found a W207 AMG Sport Package steering wheel w/o paddle shifters from UK eBay for $330 shipped. This steering wheel has a flat bottom and normally comes with paddle shifters. I was lucky to find one without them since I didn't want to deal with removing the paddle shifters and plugging up the holes. Compared to my original steering wheel, it's thicker and covered with better leather with some areas in perforated leather.

Anyway, I followed Vic Viper's DIY instructions (I want to emphasize the battery needs to be disconnected and as another poster mentioned, the steering wheel lock bolt is 10mm Allen socket).

I really like my new steering wheel. It looks and feels great.

Getting back to the "somewhat" fit of the original airbag. The left and right spokes, where the multi-function buttons are located, are slightly long for the W207 steering wheel. The spokes rest right up against the steering wheel. The result is that it takes more effort to activate the horn. I'm OK with it because usually when I do need to hit the horn, I'm going to hit it hard anyway.