C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Any tips for machine polishing?

Old 06-01-2014, 01:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'08 Mercedes C300
Any tips for machine polishing?

Complete newbie to polishing. I have been watching "Chemical Guys" on youtube, who do great work in restoring and maintaining cars from top-to-bottom.

I have been watching some of their polishing videos, such as this one.

And feel like I got a good idea of how to do it now based off some loose research.

Does anyone with experience have any tips or tricks?

For example, I remember reading a post here about polishing wax, a member noted that polishing left some white residue in-between the cracks of the cars exterior. How do you avoid that? Can you clean it off easily?

What are some does and do not's?

Last edited by Flawed; 06-01-2014 at 01:47 PM.
Old 06-01-2014, 02:08 PM
SPONSOR/MBworld Guru

Received 211 Likes on 202 Posts
MB W204/W212, BMW E66, Porsche 958, VW MK6 TDI, Maserati Ghibli SQ4
Suggest taking a look at all the information posted by professional detailers here: http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/

Lots of videos posted by Mike Philips that are very good viewing as well.

Technique advise will depend a lot on machine and product as well.
Old 06-01-2014, 05:41 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 200 Likes on 139 Posts
'13 GLK350 4matic,'09 C300 4matic,'15 GLA250,'07 Honda Odyssey, '18 GLE 43
Make sure not to overheat the panel by continuously moving your polisher and ALWAYS have it wet. Do not crank the speed too much I will say 2.5-3.5 is okay (if th dial goez from 1-8). Take your time and dont rush things. This will take practice so better be patient. It would be good to have a spray bottle for making the panel damp while polishing.If you can find the 3M polishers buy the blue, white and gray tip bottles.

Last edited by shotgun_banjo; 06-01-2014 at 07:09 PM.
Old 06-02-2014, 12:23 PM

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts
C300 4matic