C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

I'm totally stumped. Overheating and charging issues, someone please help!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-29-2017, 07:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2009 C300 sport
I'm totally stumped. Overheating and charging issues, someone please help!

Hello, my 2009 C300 sport is really confusing me. I'm pretty mechanically inclined, I'm a mechanic for the army, and I work on all my own cars regardless of the job.

Problem 1: My voltage with car running is never constant. It ranges from 14.2 down to 12.1. When I come to a stop, my voltage will drop down to 12.1 and stay there and my ac will cut off due to the loss of power, then when I start driving again the voltage shoots back up to between 13.5-14.2 and it just jumps around like crazy, and my ac comes back on.
So far I have ordered a new voltage regulator, and the company I ordered from sent me the complete wrong one... so I just changed the alternator instead since autozone had one in stock and it comes with the voltage regulator. After the install, the car still does the same thing.