C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Oil leaking

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-14-2024, 05:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C CLASS C200 2008
Oil leaking

Hey guys,

So I will start by saying I'm novice here and don't know a great deal about these things. On sunday I discovered an oil leak, it was leaving a pool the size of a golf ball. It seems to not always be leaking? the reason I say that is I have on a few occasions since then had to drive to a garage and so on and I saw no leak when getting out however, I took it to a garage and the first thing they said after having a "quick look" was has the vehicle had any engine work recently. I said no, the last time any engine work was carried out was almost a year ago (timing chain change) they advised I take the car back to that garage because they said it could be the tensioner that is not tight enough or the seal is not tight. It could be something else in or around that sorta area as the leak is coming from around there. So I've contacted that garage they were suprisingly (and seemingly...) helpful and got it booked in but I'm quite reluctant to use the garage as I simply don't trust them after hearing this. I don't really have much of a choice as I've been told to locate the leak it would require taking lots of parts of the car out to be able to see where it is and that alone would run me into the hundreds (hence them saying go back to the original garage)

The reason I'm posting here and is probably pointless as I don't have a clue about this stuff is, I'm just wondering if there's anyway I try and verify myself where the leak is coming from? I could be totally wrong here but is it possible that work carried out that long ago, could start leaking this far down the line? I guess it's possible I have just not noticed the leak... but yeah.

Also can anyone tell me what this outlined bit is?

Old 05-14-2024, 11:49 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!