C36 AMG, C43 AMG (W202) 1995 - 2000

So.... add limited slip?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-08-2010, 09:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
83 500SEC, 87 300D, 02 C32(x2), 02 C320T (x2), 03 C320T4, 03 C320T, 03 E55, 05 E320CDI, 06 E320CDI
So.... add limited slip?

Since I'm new to the 202 world, what are the options? I don't suppose I can do what I did with my SEC and change the ratio without confusing the traction system, but this one wheel peel stuff is for the birds. What other models are interchangeable? 210, 208...220?

I remember seeing some spring block on ebay awhile back that would let an open diff work similar to a LSD when installed, anybody remember this?
Old 05-08-2010, 10:58 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 77 Likes on 61 Posts
2002 CLK430
I'd like to know a little more how this works. On a 208 speedo, the instrument cluster computer checks the wheel speed of all four wheel speed sensors. The instrument cluster receives the wheel speeds in RPM from the traction system. I'm going to guess the 202 works the same way. If the traction system is concerned with the rotational speed of each wheel, why would it care about the final drive ratio if all four wheels are still turning at the same speed?

caution wag alert: Or is it that the traction system will tell the TCU the wheel speed, and the TCU (who knows the output shaft speed, and based on that is pretty sure what the rotational speed should be) will throw a fit and do something highly undesireable (like limp home mode)?
Old 05-09-2010, 02:41 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 29 Likes on 23 Posts
190D 2.5 (x2), 190E 2.6, W202 C240,W202 C43 (C55), W210 E55, W212 E250CDI
It won't cause a problem with the traction system as it compares wheel speeds which a diff ratio change has no bearing on. The problem is that it will cause the transmission to go into limp mode because it thinks it's slipping if you do a diff ratio change.