C450/C43 AMG
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is there such a thing as a good buyback (C450)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-26-2018, 12:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
WRX
Is there such a thing as a good buyback (C450)

Hi Everyone.

I'm new to the Mercedes scene and interested in a C43 AMG or lightly used C450 AMG. Typically, I would never consider a Mercedes buyback or any lemon for that matter; however in this instance:

1) a dealer is offering a decent deal on a fully loaded c450 AMG.
2) The reason listed for the buyback was "irregular tire wear on the front end". (hope this is just excessive wear)
3) The buyback was from California, which has more stringent lemon buyback laws, and in other states, perhaps this would not have been possible.

I have been provided a copy of the state required notice for required vehicles, which states that the following corrective actions were taken:
-Mounted and balanced 2 new tires and installed new camber correction bushing.
-Performed 4 wheel alignment, adjusted ride height, camber, caster and toe on rear axle.
-Adjusted ride height, cam ber, caster and toe on front axle

That work would be warrantied by MBUSA for the next 10000 miles or calendar year. I believe that the rest of the car is still under full warranty.

From the various forum threads I've read about the excessive tire wear C450 (i.e.Front Tire Wear Excessive Front Tires Wear), this seems to be an issues with the stock run-flat tires and c205 platform. The car has under 10k miles and appears to have been well maintained (according to Carfax records). There were no I only drive ~ 2500 miles a year and tend to hold on to my cars for a while and I'm not as worried by the stigma of a buyback.