Sponsored by:

Transmission operation

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-16-2008, 01:33 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
AMG C63
Transmission operation

I as a rocket scientist (I am a scientist and have worked on rockets so put two and two together and you....oh well..... I am wasting time) put it on to myself to learn how the tranny works. I thought it was important, because at times the transmission does exactly what I think its going to do when I want it to do it. I think it would be fantastic if I could make the transmission do what I want it to do WHEN I want it to do it, ALL the time!!!!
I figured out that the tranny in M mode is pretty useless and I dont think fast enough to make it work the way it should.
SO in sport I have found out how to make it work!!! Remove it from Park to Drive and it will upshift and downshift through all the gears. If you down shift to a gear say 3rd into a corner. If you leave it in 3 it will shift down to 1st at the stop. Then as you leave it will shift automatically up to 3 and hold 3 till you up shift. If you down shift to 2 and then pull away from a stop it will shift up to 2 and hold 2 till you upshift.
does that make sense? I think its thats the way it works. I THINK if you down shift to 1 and then leave the stop it will upshift to 2 and hold 2 till you shift to save the motor I think. I havent verified that but I will know tomorrow. I think its a pretty convenient way to work the tranny. I cant find a way to make the tranny work in manual mode that is more fun than the Sport mode

Last edited by paulGT3; 11-16-2008 at 01:36 AM.
Old 11-16-2008, 04:15 AM

09' C63 AMG (Gisele)
Originally Posted by paulGT3