C63 AMG (W204) 2008 - 2015

gasoline

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-02-2009, 07:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C63
gasoline

what gasoline would you guys rank best to worst..

(in no particular order)
sunoco
getty
exxon
shell
bp
lukoil
Old 10-02-2009, 07:42 PM

Received 35 Likes on 15 Posts
AMG GT-R
I prefer either Shell or Chevron, but only because they seem to have the nicest stations around here. I have no actual knowledge of this, but I remember being told by someone in the oil industry that the gas all comes from the same place anyway, and that those "special" marketing catch phrases are just that. (ie. techron, V-power, etc)

The only time I've heard of bad gas was from some Arco stations, but that was because a few stations watered it down or something like that.
Old 10-02-2009, 09:12 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2009 C63
For the most part I try to get Exxon whenever I can. The only time I've ever really gotten bad gas was at a Sonoco, for some reason their Premium (what I always ask for, 93 octane almost everywhere) is only 91 octane.. You have to ask for I think Ultra..
Old 10-03-2009, 03:55 PM

C63
find one without ethanol if you can, i get 93 without ethanol from liberty {local station} otherwise i would use chevron with techron.
Old 10-06-2009, 04:34 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
09 C63 11 E350
I think the "quality" of the actual station is more important. Old tanks and pumps that haven't been updated means lots of dirty fuel. Especially if you were to buy gas after the load of fuel was transferred from the tanker without allowing the dirt to settle.

Gasoline is trasnsported via pipeline throughout the country and is generic for all practical purposes. Only after it gets to the final depot prior to tanker shipment is where each Brand additives are added.