Exhaust info for a noob

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-19-2014, 10:23 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 26 Likes on 17 Posts
This and that.
Exhaust info for a noob

Okay guys I am a complete noob when it comes to exhaust stuff. For the past month and half I've been reading every single exhaust mod thread that comes up and trying to figure out what's what. Unfortunately none of it makes much sense so this is my final attempt to figure out how I can mod my exhaust to make the car a little louder with more gurgling sounds before giving up on it all together.

I hear terms like resonator, secondary cat thrown around and to be frank I am not even sure I know what is what. So I found a picture of the undercarriage of a c63 online and I was wondering if someone could label the various things on it for me so I know what is being referred to when certain names come up.

Essentially here is what I would like my car to have/not have;

1. Louder sound but not obnoxiously ear hurting loud
2. No rasp or drone
3. Don't care about performance but wouldn't want to lose any
4. No error codes thrown on the computer due to the mod
5. Preferably not void the cars warranty

Now based on what I state, what do you guys recommend I should be doing with it? I have a decent local exhaust shop and i've spoken to the guy and he is willing to work on it for me. I just need to know what I should be asking him basically.

Thanks for all the help guys and I am sorry for somewhat of a repetitive nature of the thread. But I honestly couldn't figure out what to do and which route to go from reading several earlier threads as people mention different things all the time. And most of the times I don't even know what parts are being referred to and stuff.
Old 06-19-2014, 10:38 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
C63
Go look at mikes power-pipe thread. Cut the secondary cats out and replace with straight pipe. Zero drone. More crackle pop. Mellow at cruising. Hide your children at wide open throttle.