Race Fuel - 365

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-24-2014, 08:31 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
C63 AMG
Race Fuel - 365

Is there anyone here running race fuel 365 days a year? Is this a good idea? Will it hurt anything over the long run, other than the wallet?
I ask because I have a local gas station that sells 104 octane. I ran it in my dirtbikes when I raced motocross, but never in my cars.
From what I understand, the higher the octane, the more branches of fuel and the slower and cooler it burns. This sounds to me like it would actually be better for the car. Now, having said that, it would also appear that EC could send me another tune file that will increase hp by like 20bhp or something if I am running race fuel.
If I were to run the race tune, can you then only run race fuel in it or can you run 93 in it on that tune as well? This part of the question may be a better suited question to ask EC.

Sorry but this is one area I have no experience in.
What are your thoughts on all of this?

Last edited by Autosport7; 07-24-2014 at 09:00 AM.
Old 07-24-2014, 08:46 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 57 Likes on 46 Posts
2006 E320 CDI 2014 C63 507 Coupe 2012 E550 4M 2016 E63s Wagon
Make sure you get unleaded as there are leaded race fuels available too. I'm sure a tune would unleash the full potential, but I suspect that running 98 or 100 would give an improvement over the 10% EtOH 93 available at the pumps. Pitt Race sells a selection http://www.pittrace.com/faq and the Sunoco site is a wealth of information http://www.racegas.com/.
Old 07-24-2014, 08:50 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

C63 AMG
Originally Posted by rediesel