Sponsored by:

DIY: More "advanced" audio upgrade options

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-21-2020, 11:45 PM

Received 34 Likes on 19 Posts
'12 P31 C63 coupe
DIY: More "advanced" audio upgrade options

Note to mods: If you feel like this should go in another audio thread, feel free to delete it and I'll repost it under there. I just didn't want people to sift through many pages of our other threads to find this info.

I have the HK system and wanted to upgrade my system so I'll explain what I did. Note that I am an amateur and could be wrong so feel free to correct me if I'm wrong or say that there's a better way to do stuff. I'm always willing to learn and improve

Understanding our Audio System

All audio systems have a signal flow from an input (source) to output (speakers). Our stock system goes from Headunit (cd, bluetooth, radio, etc.) -> stock amp -> speakers. Somewhere along audio signal flow, you have digital signals and analog signals. No matter what, at some point you have to convert your digital signal into an analog signal because sound waves itself is analog. Without going too deep into the differences between analog/digital sound signals, a pure analog signal flow is like a record player with an analog input while a digital signal flow is like going from an mp3 player (digital) going to your headphones (analog).

This is important because somewhere along our stock system, we have to convert digital to analog. Where you convert it is up to you, there are pros and cons of each such as sound quality or costs. Generally, the less analog signals there are, there are less chances for the sound signals to be distorted. Modern Mercedes uses a MOST (Media Oriented Systems Transport) which is a digital signal.

Revisiting our car's audio signal flow, I will add if the signal is digital or analog:

Headunit ---digital MOST bus--> stock amp ---analog speaker wire--> speakers