CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

2000 CLK430 cruise control issues

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-29-2016, 07:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2000 CLK430
2000 CLK430 cruise control issues

My wife's CLK W 133,000 miles suddenly will not maintain cruise control function. Just yesterday the cruise started cutting off on uphill grades. Today it will not engage for more than a second or two, even on a downhill. Anyone have any experience w this or ideas? Thx.
Old 10-30-2016, 02:53 AM

Received 36 Likes on 32 Posts
-
Do your brake lights work and work consistently? Have you ever had problems with ABS/ESP?

I'm no expert, but I'd start by replacing the brake light switch, even if it's just for peace of mind - it's 25 bucks / .5 hour job and the little sucker causes trouble with all kinds of systems.
Old 10-31-2016, 09:21 AM

2000 CLK430
Thanks. The brake lights do work. The ABS/ESP did come on and off a few times a few months ago (2000 or 3000 miles ago). I did not take it in for service because the alert went away. Since then I had it aligned, new tires in front then had an accident where I was hit in the drivers side rear wheel which bent the control arm which knocked out the alignment. That control arm had to be replaced and the car was realigned. Seemed to run fine for about 500 highway curies control miles until suddenly the cruise cut out on the uphills. Now it won't set except at below 60 MPH and then it cuts out on the uphills again.
Old 10-31-2016, 09:44 AM

-
The relay that controls the ABS/ESP pump gets stuck sometimes and the warning lights come on only to come off a bit later. In this case the pump continues to work overtime and wear out. They've updated the relays so there's a new part number.