CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

About to Get a CLK, YES or NO?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-26-2004, 08:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
About to Get a CLK, YES or NO?

Gentlemen,

I'm new to MBworld so just saying what's up. Congrats on owning the sexiest benz available IMO. I am 22, graduating in May, with a good paying job lined up, so I'm about to get a new car. The 1st gen CLK 320 or 430 are my top choices right now. followed by the Infiniti G35 coupe, Acura CL type S, and LExus IS300. Obviously i have to get a used, or cert. preowned CLK since i am looking at 1st gen. Here is my dilemma.

I'm guessing These next few years are going to be my prime, so i really don't mind an impractical car like this, but at the same time I dont want my whole paycheck to go to paying for this Benz and maintaining it. The warranties available for these benzes are very limited since they are used. Rumor has it that the 1st gen CLK is very problematic. Is this true? how much does the average problem cost to fix? What's the most expensive fix that you all have had? If i get this car i couldn't see myself giving it up for anytime soon, so i would probably hold on to it until i got married and what not. is this car reliable or no? If i buy one with 40k, will i be screwed as I am paying for this myself? How high can i take the odometer before needing to replace this car? I know you can't find the prestige that comes with a benz anywhere else but I am a bit concerned with the practicality/reliability of the car a bit. does this mean i should should i just step down to Lexus or Acura?

I want to hear ur CLK praises, regrets, problems, what should i expect?
Old 12-26-2004, 09:08 PM

Another few quick questions:

1. Should i stay away from any certian production year CLK's?

2. Is the 320 more reliable than the 430?