CLK-Class (W209) 2003 on: CLK 270 CDI, CLK 200K, CLK 200 CGI, CLK 240, CLK 320, CLK 350, CLK 500, CLK 550 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Mods vs dyno gains

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-01-2011, 07:23 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'05 C200K SS, '05 Kleemann CLK500K, '08 Hummer H3 & '92 Z34 5sp (track car in Canada)
Mods vs dyno gains

Well, it seems like I’m a noob again because I haven’t been around for so long! As I’m sure everyone here knows, the Middle East has been ‘interesting’ the past few months and it’s made working here pretty challenging. I thought that traveling all week every week was enough of a challenge but I was sorely mistaken, anyways, things are settling down now and I am starting to have a little free time again so I need to get caught up.

Right from the beginning of my build project I said that I would be dyno’ing the car between mods to present actual gains – I have in fact followed through with that and present the results so far;

Car in complete stock form: 221
AMS headers with stock exhaust: 223
AMS headers with full new exhaust, 2nd cat delete and Magnaflow: 239
AMS headers, full exhaust, AMS pulley and E55K airbox/BMC filters: 246

As you can see, the results of the bolt on mods are not too bad at all considering that the car was running a complete stock ECU tune. You can read into the numbers in a number of different ways, aka, headers aren’t much of a gain OR the headers work great with a free flowing exhaust… Obviously deleting the 2nd cats and the chambered muffler allows the car to breath considerably better, add into the equation the headers pulley and airbox, I ended up with a number that was a higher than I expected.

Now, as everyone here knows I plan on adding a Kleemann supercharger when/if I can get RTA approval (or find a way around it) so I was not going to spend $1,000USD on a custom dyno tune that would just need to be re-flashed anyways but…

Curiosity got the best of me