CLK-Class (W209) 2003 on: CLK 270 CDI, CLK 200K, CLK 200 CGI, CLK 240, CLK 320, CLK 350, CLK 500, CLK 550 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Instrument cluster won't turn off

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-09-2017, 03:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2006 clk350
Instrument cluster won't turn off

I have a 2006 CLK350 W209, and for quite some time now (at least 6 months), the instrument cluster will not turn off when I turn off the car, remove the key (keyless start) but take the key away from the car, close the door, lock the car, etc. It will just stay on and drain the battery (if its longer than 12 hours or so, the battery will go down enough that I can't start it without a jump). Only way I can get it off is to remove the fuse. I'm no mechanic, and not very handy with cars. I took it to a certified Mercedes repair place (not a dealer), and they couldn't really figure it out, wanted me to replace the cluster (at $1100 or something ridiculous), so, Ive taken to just removing the fuse. Its a real hassle though, so was hoping someone on here might have some idea of what is wrong and suggestions for fixing it. My first ever post here, hoping you guys can help!
Old 05-09-2017, 04:52 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 110 Likes on 101 Posts
2008 CLK550 Cab
I can tell you this is not a common issue. Not sure I recall anybody ever raising it before in the 6+ years I've been on here. I'm sure somebody who knows more about the electrical layout will chime in. Does the fuse you pull control anything besides the cluster? I'm curious whether the power shut off to the cluster is actually located in the cluster itself, such that replacing the cluster might fix it. Common sense would tell you that the power shut off occurs somewhere upstream of the cluster, but common sense doesn't have much to do with modern cars.
Old 11-04-2017, 03:49 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2012 Dodge Journey
Instrument cluster will not turn off.