CLK-Class (W209) 2003 on: CLK 270 CDI, CLK 200K, CLK 200 CGI, CLK 240, CLK 320, CLK 350, CLK 500, CLK 550 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

When is an AMG NOT an AMG?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-09-2019, 01:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CLK320
When is an AMG NOT an AMG?

...When it has the "AMG Sports Package!" Here's a link to some good info on this option:
https://www.autoblog.com/2006/04/20/...e-for-e-class/

Also, I am a total newbie at Mercedes anything. I bought a 2005 "AMG" CLK550 yesterday that is a complete wreck. I will be parting this out soon! Luckily I had done a bit of homework so when I popped the hood - there was no AMG motor. It had the standard V6! long story short i got a great deal on this car but the interesting thing to me is that it has AMG badges inside and out! On the wheels, the trunk lid, both front fenders and the radiator grill. Also the interior is branded with AMG logo on the seats - everywhere! I did a VIN search and came up with Sports Package in the build sheet. Hmmm....

Last, this car is titled as a CLK550 but the VIN shows a CLK320. What's the difference?
Old 11-09-2019, 02:11 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 315 Likes on 232 Posts
'19 E63S sedan
Originally Posted by KimbroVideo
...When it has the "AMG Sports Package!" Here's a link to some good info on this option:
https://www.autoblog.com/2006/04/20/...e-for-e-class/

Also, I am a total newbie at Mercedes anything. I bought a 2005 "AMG" CLK550 yesterday that is a complete wreck. I will be parting this out soon! Luckily I had done a bit of homework so when I popped the hood - there was no AMG motor. It had the standard V6! long story short i got a great deal on this car but the interesting thing to me is that it has AMG badges inside and out! On the wheels, the trunk lid, both front fenders and the radiator grill. Also the interior is branded with AMG logo on the seats - everywhere! I did a VIN search and came up with Sports Package in the build sheet. Hmmm....