CLK-Class (W209) 2003 on: CLK 270 CDI, CLK 200K, CLK 200 CGI, CLK 240, CLK 320, CLK 350, CLK 500, CLK 550 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Aftermarket radio cause no start?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-03-2019 | 09:46 PM

2006 CLK 500
Aftermarket radio cause no start?

i Posted previously about the electrical issues I’m having with my car. I’ve been installing stereos for over 25 years, I’ve worked in several stereo/custom shops so I kinda have an idea what I’m doing. My father in law already took it upon himself to have it towed to a dealership where he told them it was because I cut all the wires etc. well the dealer diagnosed it needing a new pcm. I replaced that and still having issues with it not starting. Now he took it somewhere else and he said the tech told him it was because I replaced the radio. The car was fine for a year with the aftermarket radio but he said he was told that it might b ok at first but not having the factory radio is making the car think it’s stolen, preventing it from starting. Is there any truth to this? I have always used an aftermarket harness with all my installs as I did here with no issues. Am I missing something? He said I need to have the car reprogrammed for an aftermarket radio. This is the first foreign car I’ve owned so maybe I am missing something, I don’t know. Will switching radios cause the car to think it’s stolen and cause the security system to not let the car start?
2006 CLK500
Old 12-04-2019 | 05:53 AM

W124 260E
Radios at one time were linked in to the imobiliser and alarm system , For the reason that if the radio is stolen or removed its comunication to the alarm is cut off .But the simple checks you can do with fuel and spark will tell you if its the radio thats at fault due to its removal . Do you have a spark? Do you have fuel? . If you have these 2 then its not your radio .
Old 12-04-2019 | 09:40 AM

2005 CLK500 Cabriolet