CLK55 AMG, CLK63 AMG (W208, W209) 2000 - 2010 (Two Generations)

New Member: Getting a CLK55 - Have Questions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-21-2007 | 10:17 PM

your mom
New Member: Getting a CLK55 - Have Questions

Hello Everyone,

I am about a week away from finalizing a deal on a 2003 CLK55 (Silver with black leather, nav). The car has 54,000 miles. I am getting it for around $27-28,000 through a friend of a friend.

I'm going to have it checked out by Mercedes, but I wanted to know if there were any specific things/issues to look out for. Also, are there any major scheduled maintenances coming up? I looked long and hard and couldn't find the schedule for the 55.

Hopefully I'll have my car soon, I'll be sure to post pictures as long as the deal goes though.

Thanks in advance!
Old 08-21-2007 | 11:07 PM

2001 CLK55
Hey AOG, cool handle.

I'm a newbie too. Just bought an 01' CLK55 with 50,000 miles about 3 weeks ago and received the service records from the previous owner in the mail today. The thing that jumped out at me was having both transmission and motor mounts replaced the week before I picked up the car. Along with some other misc. maintenance the tab came to over $4K. I got an extended warranty to 85,000 miles in the deal so I'm not real concerned about repairs but I've owned a lot of hot cars, and I never had to have the motor mounts replaced.

Something to look out for I guess?
Old 08-21-2007 | 11:39 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2002 CLK430
Normal wear items at this stage will include:
  • Both motor mounts
  • Trans mount
  • Brake light switch (if it's the same as a W208)
  • Differential side seals
  • Flex dics
  • Catalytic converters