CLK55 AMG, CLK63 AMG (W208, W209) 2000 - 2010 (Two Generations)

W208 CLK55 AMG Subframe Bushing DIY (first ever)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-02-2020, 12:38 AM

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
2001 clk 55 amg
W208 CLK55 AMG Subframe Bushing DIY (first ever)

Hey guys I spent countless hours doing research, driving back and forth to Home Depot, and piecing together everything I could find out about subframe/Mercedes subframe bushings to finally remove and install new (unfortunately not strongflex uk) but OEM subframe bushings.

now im not a mechanic so I wouldn't recommend doing what I did but I'd just like to share my experience if you're considering tackling this job yourself.

I think the best bet and what I chose to do was do drop the whole subframe.

the muffler and resonator were a huge pain in the ***. The flanges were super rusted connecting the resonator to the cats. I had to cut the 4 bolts which are now seized in the flanges. I am unsure what I will do to overcome this situation as of now.

tap each connection from differential to guibo disc on drive shaft with mallet lightly in order to loosen it up and make it easier to separate when dropping the rear end.

when it comes to the bushings on this car front control arm or subframe a nice strong air hammer would be your best friend. You should be able to blast them off in seconds. I highly suggest heating up the housing with a torch

the front bushings were shot and the center was completely separated on one. This is where I would hear a loud thud under very hard acceleration and what prompted me to inspect and find the worm bushing. ( I hope this is what that was haha)

the rear bushings seemed ok and from what I found go out far less often than the fronts. I think I would have been ok with leaving them but figured it would be wasteful not to replace them while having access.