Considering a 2014 CLS550....

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-28-2017, 06:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Considering a 2013 E350 Cabriolet
Considering a 2014 CLS550....

I am considering a well-maintained 2014 CLS550 with 20,300 miles and its factory warranty in force until late August 2018. Once the factory warranty expires, I expect to do my own routine maintenance. I currently maintain our 2005 Jaguar S-Type sedan, our 2006 Jaguar XK8 convertible, our 2013 Subaru Outback 3.6R SUV, and our 1999 Dodge Ram pickup. If I purchase this CLS550, it will replace our Jaguar S-Type. I have been doing my own routine automotive maintenance since the late 1970s.

What diagnostic tools will I need to own in order to properly maintain this CLS550, and where can they be sourced for reasonable prices?

I plan on making my final decision regarding whether or not to make an offer to purchase this vehicle by end-of-day tomorrow (Friday).

Thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide.
Old 01-07-2018, 09:03 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2014 CLS550 4matic AND 2010 C300 4matic
You don’t need a diagnostic tool. The car tells you when it’s time and what service plan it is. The service manual tells you what maintenance should be performed at what mileage interval. If you follow Mercedes schedule you’d have to do a do a tranny flush every 40k miles. (Not an easy task) Brake flush every B service which is easy with this, https://www.motiveproducts.com/colle...ropean-bleeder Sorry for late response, did u make the purchase?
The following users liked this post:
JonG89 (01-07-2018)
Old 01-07-2018, 10:06 AM

Thanks for your feedback. No, I have not purchased the vehicle yet. Still doing my research and I remain on the fence in terms of whether or not I can justify spending this much cash on a niche vehicle that I want but do not need.