Notices
Diesel Forum Forum for Diesel engine vehicle related discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

OM642 check oil pressure

 
Old 05-06-2019, 09:19 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 70
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
2012 S350 Bluetec 4MATIC
OM642 check oil pressure

Since OM642 doesn't have oil pressure sensor can I make a hole to the oil filter housing cap, attach oil pressure gauge to the hole and check the pressure there? Or it will be inaccurate?
artim808 is offline  
Old 05-07-2019, 12:25 AM
  #2  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 70
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
2012 S350 Bluetec 4MATIC
Ok I found the answer. According to WIS that's actually proper way to measure the oil pressure on OM642. Attached WIS document just in case someone else want to do it.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
Check oil pressure.pdf (170.2 KB, 45 views)
artim808 is offline  
The following users liked this post:
mtrevelino (05-07-2019)
Old 05-07-2019, 10:11 PM
  #3  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 102
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
W211 E320 Diesel
I'd like to hear the opinion of others on this issue but I don't think it's a good idea to drill a hole in the plastic filter housing. There is a lot of vibration ... not as much as on a gas motor but may be just enough to crack.
Many thanks for the document you attached. I searched the part # 642 589 00 91 00 thinking that perhaps it's a metal version of the filter housing but it's not, it's just a test metal cap with a port?

https://www.tradera.com/item/343611/...2-589-01-91-00
GoodByeHonda is offline  
Old 05-07-2019, 11:54 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 70
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
2012 S350 Bluetec 4MATIC
If you want just to check oil pressure I think drill hole to plastic is ok. Obviously this can't be used for driving. I ordered new housing for $40 which I will modify and use for checking oil pressure and I will keep the original housing without modification for driving. I don't know whether original mercedes tool is metal or plastic, but link you sent is different tool.
artim808 is offline  
Old 05-08-2019, 05:26 PM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 102
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
W211 E320 Diesel
My bad with the link to the wrong part. What is the best place to tap into the OM642 block for the purpose of measuring oil pressure while driving? I'll be getting ScanGauge II for monitoring my dpf regeneration and thought it would be a good idea to have oil pressure as one of the parameters the gauge would display.
GoodByeHonda is offline  
Old 05-08-2019, 05:41 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 70
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
2012 S350 Bluetec 4MATIC
Maybe hole to filter housing (bottom metal part) will work for you? How you will connect pressure sensor to ScanGauge II? There is input connector for additional third party sensors?
artim808 is offline  
Old 05-08-2019, 06:55 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 102
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
W211 E320 Diesel
I'm not sure if scan guage II will allow for this input. I'm in the process of data logging and hoping this can be accomplished with external sensor.
GoodByeHonda is offline  
Old 05-08-2019, 09:22 PM
  #8  
MBWorld Fanatic!
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: V E G A S
Posts: 5,422
Received 487 Likes on 457 Posts
E250 BTC
Any OBD scanner will read only what car computer will show.
You'd have to program new gauge to car computer for it to potentially show.
kajtek1 is online now  
Old 05-09-2019, 06:16 PM
  #9  
Out Of Control!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tampa
Posts: 11,873
Received 585 Likes on 568 Posts
1999 E300TD
Don't be super foolish and drill,if anything by a tester cap and do the measurement yourself.
PS: That BS scan tester cant read the oil pressure because there is no electronic sensor to read---waste of money
Plutoe is offline  
Old 05-09-2019, 09:12 PM
  #10  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 102
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
W211 E320 Diesel
Originally Posted by kajtek1 View Post
Any OBD scanner will read only what car computer will show.
You'd have to program new gauge to car computer for it to potentially show.
ScanGuage told me to run it for 30min and tell them 4 parameters I want to monitor. Perhaps oil pressure is possible. Hoping here... I dont need exact pressure but a warning when it passes low level threshold would suffice.
Back to the original topic
GoodByeHonda is offline  
Old 05-09-2019, 10:27 PM
  #11  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 70
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
2012 S350 Bluetec 4MATIC
If the pressure sensor is not connected to ECU then you will not be able to monitor oil pressure with ScanGauge. ScanGauge can read values only from sensors which are connected to ECU. Unfortunately there is no way for us to connect oil pressure sensor to ECU. New cable harness and custom ECU firmware is necessary for that sensor to make it work.
artim808 is offline  
 

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:
You have already rated this thread Rating: Thread Rating: 0 votes,  average.

Quick Reply: OM642 check oil pressure


Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: