Sprinter 318CDI OM642 Engine Light on. Rail Pressure issue

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-11-2022, 06:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
S211 220CDI, W906 318CDI, Smart CDI
Sprinter 318CDI OM642 Engine Light on. Rail Pressure issue

Hi,
my name is Karl and I'm from Magdeburg, Germany. I am an automotive engineer and for 30 years in our business. But, that doesn't help at all now:-) I own a W906 Sprinter with an OM642 Diesel Engine. It is a 318 CDI. I bought it to convert it into a RV and work now for 3 years on it. In that time the vehicle didn't get enough running time and I had last year an issue with the diesel fuel. It is called Diesel Pest here in Germany. It is basically an over population of the fuel system with bacterias which are clogging the fuel system. I cleaned it all up and performed a system flush and renewed the low pressure fuel pump cause it was seized. After doing this engine started and ran fine.
Now after another 10 month I started it again and now I have the following issue:
I start the engine. After 30sec running the noise of the engine suddenly changes to a much harder sound for 2sec and the Check Engine Light comes on and stays on. After that event, the engine sound goes back to normal, but the limp home mode is active. If I stop engine and restart, CEL is still on, but engine can be reved up as normal up to the point when the strange combustion sound appears again. and so on....