E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

Shaving and Painting my Grille

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-11-2008, 08:57 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
1990 300ce
Shaving and Painting my Grille

Alright, the upcoming Vancover/Bellingham/Seattle meet has inspired me to do a little work on my car to get it prettied up!

Zorro was kind enough to do a photoshop of my car will a shaved and color-matched grille:

I want to do all of the work myself, but I'm not experienced at all with body work. I'm generally pretty good working with my hands, but I need help understanding the process of prepping chrome and using rattle cans of primer and color-matched paint. I own a compressor, so I could buy an automotive paint gun if you guys think that's worth it. Lower end ones aren't that expensive really. I also need repaint the filler panels under my headlights- my previous job has chipped off over the last two years, so clearly I need to do a better job this time around.

I want the grille to withstand the elements as much as possible, so the paint has to be applied properly. Everything I've read about body work indicates that 90% of your success is based on the quality of your prep work.

I know chrome isn't suitable to be painted without some prep. I have read about the subject quite a lot online. My research has resulted in the following possibilities:

1. Some people do very basic prep such as using a Scotchbrite pad and Comet cleaner and dulling the chrome. They simply clean it up and prime and paint after getting the surface nice and dull

2. I have heard of others getting the chrome parts sand blasted, although others criticise that method because chrome is very difficult to remove... and therefore sand blasting creates too much heat and can warp the part. Plus it's expensive.